ezine
View All Comments
BBC2 Horror Double Bill
Horror double bills.
star--Excellent
2013-03-02 21:38:12
I remember watching the horror double bills with my mother and my grandparents. I was allowed to stay up late and my mother would usually play a little trick on me by touching my head and when I would turn she would make out it wasn\'t her, trying to scare me. I remember BBC 2 would transmit a black and white one first and then a colour one to follow. I remember Boris Karloff as Frankenstien, and I also remember watching Peter Cushing in \'\'the Goul\'\' and \'\'I walked with a zombie\'\' tall black man with big bulging eyes!!! never forgotten that. I also remember watching \'\'Zoltan, hound of Dracula\'\'
Andrew Dexter.
----------------------------------------------------------------
saturday night horror double bill
star--Excellent
2013-02-03 09:10:20
I remember many of these well. I saw the Satanic Rites of Dracula in 1979 which was the later film and if i remember right, it did,nt end untill 2 in the morning. Then, the following year, in 1980, it was Night of the Demon & The Ghoul which started the double bill season. I was like a kid waiting for Christmas the whole week before when it was announced on tv. Without doubt a highlight in my childhood. Calling Dr Who, I want to borrow your TARDIS
Matthew cox
----------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday night classic horror on The BBC
star--Excellent
2013-04-01 09:37:28
I will forever have the fondest childhood memories of how fantastic Saturday\'s were, I would get up early to watch Swap shop on TV , then go out with all my friends to kick a football around, grab our (Chopper) bikes for a ride around the park and would all meet up in the afternoons take the bus to go and watch Spurs play football at all their home games, this was such an enjoyable routine it made me look forward so much to Saturdays. But the most anticipated time on a Saturday was Saturday night after Match of the day, I think it was around 10:30 pm on BBC2, for nothing could thrill me more than when that moment came when the announcer would say those magic words \"and now for the first of our horror double bill\" It still brings a tingle down my spine while I am writing this now. These films brought to us not only thrilling entertainment with genuine story lines based on classic tales and culture but arguably some of the best British actors who are still my personal favorites, Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee, Donald Pleasence, just to name a few. It doesn\'t surprise me to find so many articles on the internet today referring with such sincere enthusiasm about the great Saturday night horror double bill... Please bring them back..
Chris Amadeus
----------------------------------------------------------------
Childhood Memories
star--Excellent
2014-01-27 14:23:26
I remember these films fondly and of the era in general. I was 10 in 1980 so these movies played a big part of my formative years and it\'s great to see the list of movies again so I can remember what I watched. I am convinced that The Crazies was preceeded by Quatermass Experiment though and not Island of Death. My parent\'s were out and my Nan let me stay up to watch both films. Unfortunately, The Crazies was way too disturbing and I feigned sleep so I didn\'t have to watch it. It\'s a movie that stuck with me for a long, long time. I like the early RKO stuff followed by a Hammer or Amicus film and it\'s true they just don\'t make em like that anymore. I have a blog dedicated to the Video Nasty era at http://thevideonastyera.blogspot.co.uk/ and I imagine people who loved the Double Bill probably watched some of the early video releases too.
Allan Morrish
----------------------------------------------------------------
Fondly remembered
star--Excellent
2013-08-25 22:00:42
Like the other reviewers, these double bills are fondly remembered and a major part of my growing up. Reading the list, I must have started with the second series in 1976 (aged 10). The following year I had a bad bicycle accident and was taken to hospital - I begged my dad not to let them keep me in overnight as, although I had see \'Dracula\' already I was desperate to see \'Frankenstein\' - the second half of the first double bill of the new series. Some films I have no recollection of (perhaps I simply fell asleep) but most I remember vividly, and just as vividly I recall sitting in front on the floor in front of my dad with all the lights off. Happy days, indeed
brett sidaway
----------------------------------------------------------------
bbc2 seasons
star--Excellent
2013-10-01 15:27:04
I FONDLY REMEMBER WATCHING THESE DOUBLE BILLS ON A SATURDAY NIGHT AND SWITCHING OVER TO WATCH BILKO ON BBC1.DOES ANYONE REMEMBER THE SCI-FI SEASON ON BBC2 IN 1984 WHICH BEGAN WITH WESTWORLD AND INCLUDED THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH PHASE IV DARK STAR DEATHWATCH LOGANS RUN DEMON SEED THE FINAL PROGRAMME AND ENDED WITH NIGHTWING?
B.KEANE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
No Focus Extracts
Very low on the tone scale
star--Excellent
2012-05-30 19:05:13
I dearly wish someone would publish something about the scientology connections to Crass, there is a distinct area of silence around this bizarre yet true topic. Ian Glasper left the research he did out of his full-length biography maybe thinking it was too weird for the story and didn\'t fit. Penny Rimbaud snaps like a ratbag if you mention it and claims that Loder had long since left the Church, which I\'m pretty sure isn\'t true, although I don\'t know what pseudonym his completion records or those of other Crass members may have been under. I love Crass and I think there are worse things to worry about than Co$ in the world, it would just be nice to see some openness about it all, bearing in mind the source of the funding for their label was Loder. Note that most anarchopunk fans will consider you in need of tin foil if you so much as mention this.
Marcabian
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
33 Trapped Chilean Miners
Right on
star--Excellent
2012-05-22 18:59:31
Great and inspiring info. I totally agree with everything. News is regularly faked; they use the same actors again and again, as Ed Chiarini has revealed: http://wellaware1.com/
ORBE
----------------------------------------------------------------
33 Trapped Chilean Miners
star--Excellent
2012-05-22 09:37:52
Wow! What an Amazing review! Fantastically deep and moving... politically true real life stuff! by Dirty Jakes Mom
Victoria Maria
----------------------------------------------------------------
I LOVE SIMON MORRIS
star--Excellent
2012-12-30 01:19:19
Not in a gay way, but maybe it might as well be. I\'m so fascinated by everything he says/does. HONG KONG GOOLAGONG.
Nadroj
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is not a hotdog
Doesn't get it, but is able to write.
star--Average
2012-03-16 11:29:50
You are one of those who quote \"Doesn\'t get it\"... but don\'t feel bad. The moral high ground and well-worded points you put into creating this article would have made you feel really smart! I won\'t go ruining this high for you by contesting your work in any way. Three gold stars for your achievement!
Matt
----------------------------------------------------------------
Plank in your own eye
star--Excellent
2012-03-19 11:48:57
Thanks loads Matt.I live to suck-seed, don\'t you know, unlike you - evidently a million miles above feeling \'really smart\'. Contest away - sure I\'d learn something.
Thomas
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Remembering BBC2 Horror
many thanks
star--Excellent
2012-01-22 00:20:18
i spent my childhood fixated to these movies with my mum, the shuttered room caused nightmares, another movie i assumed i saw in this specticle was 'the beast in the cellar' scared the hell of me for a long time. i have good memories of a lot of them, but i thought a lot of dracula movies were screened then like the satanic rites of dracula?
kedwilkins
----------------------------------------------------------------
The Telephone Box
star--Excellent
2013-10-07 11:03:31
The bizarre Spanish short about a guy trapped in a telephone box was called The Telephone Box.
David
----------------------------------------------------------------
horror double bills
star--Excellent
2013-10-06 19:44:14
what was the name of the bizarre Spanish short about a guy trapped in a telephone box which was shown in 1979?
BRENDAN KEANE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Grand Guignol
Keep it up
star--Excellent
2011-12-15 12:21:28
Good luck with this. We need a grand guignol resource on the web, as there is nothing that deals with it -- beyond offering a potted history. The forum at /www.grandguignol.com/ used to be good, but it seems to have dried up lately. MoMo
MoMo
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Beneath Contempt Extract
Death magazine
star--Excellent
2011-10-12 20:42:22
Death magazine fascinated me so much more than Screw, I suppose because it was never around like Screw was. (Of course, neither is Screw anymore.) Are these issues of Death kicking around in any format? Love the book, btw. Another great one, Jack!
Alan J.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What we mean when we say no ISBN
The state of independent publishing
star--Excellent
2011-10-03 16:55:13
Understanding that this might not be the done thing, I am leaving a comment on my own post. But it's pertinent to the above. The link will take you to my post in the Latarnia forum: http://thelatarniaforums.yuku.com/topic/10390/Latest-Headpress And for those with sore mouse-trigger fingers, here's what it says anyway: As editor and publisher of Headpress, it was suggested elsewhere on this board I might care to write a few words on the state of independent publishing (and editing). It has only taken me something like three months to get round to it, but, coinciding with the release of our latest, HEADPRESS 2.5, here goes... you (ahem) axed for it... Headpress has been documenting all aspects of pop culture and so-called low culture for over twenty years now... which is something akin to a record, I guess. The first issue of Headpress magazine appeared in 1991. It was A4 format and was put together using the cut and paste technique -- the text was printed out using a word processor, while the images were scanned for print beforehand and pasted in place. There were no road maps for such things back then, and everything was self taught, or on the suggestion of our printer (who was based in Sheffield and specialised in football fanzines -- Headpress was something of a bewildering departure for him). When we eventually moved to designing and laying out on a computer, we did so using a basic PC and A4 scanner (I recall the latter was a clunky HP model that cost around £600.) While this offered greater flexibility, it also brought its own problems, in that the PC was effectively incompatible with anything else going on in the design or print world. DTP software, such as PageMaker and InDesign, slowly and eventually managed to change that particular bias. Technology often seemed a very big headache in those early days, as we floundered about trying to figure it out, while at the same time it was developing beneath our feet. Now, of course, technology is our friend. However, with the rise of the internet, it seemed that shifting copies of Headpress (and our other books) became more difficult. The "global village" that was promised of the internet doesn't really exist for the small publisher, and, based in Manchester, I was finding that more and more of my time in the early 2000s was spent commuting to London and back -- meeting with the distributors, friends and acquaintances, making formal contacts, etc. In the end, around mid 2000, I moved down to London and saved myself a fortune in train fares. Headpress magazine by this time was into its double figures. With HEADPRESS 13 it had stopped being A4 size and was essentially a book, and being sold and distributed as a book. (The reason for the change was aesthetic.) But then the book trade began to change, including the manner in which some major chains bought new titles (Waterstones, for instance), and it was no longer easy to sell a publication that couldn't be readily categorised. Although it contained plenty of film material, Headpress wasn't really about films; it wasn't about any one particular subject. The buyers for shops didn't know where to put Headpress on the shelves (my London based distributor told me this), and so, quite simply, they stopped stocking it. I was suffering from the condition that affects all small publishers: Distribution. Or a lack of it. Whereby once I could sell 500 copies of Headpress to one client in the US with one phonecall (proceeding to pack them myself for shipping), that avenue and others suddenly began to dry up (and were already closed in the case of Tower). It seemed to me that the technology that had helped us create Headpress in the first, came with a price. I became tired of simply churning out a product in order for it to find a home on Amazon, selling for peanuts. (I use Amazon like anyone else, it's convenient.) And so I decided I would go the other way about it, and stop trying to get it into every retail outlet on the planet. The global village doesn't want books, individuals want books. This is why Headpress no longer carries an ISBN number (which is tantamount to death in the world of book publishing), and cannot be found anywhere but on the Headpress website. It's now a limited edition full-colour hardback, with each copy stamped and individually numbered. Plus there's an online version (containing all but a couple of the articles), so you can see what you will be getting, which is free to view.
David K.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Black Museums of Europe
F***in hell this is beautiful
star--Excellent
2011-09-29 19:32:13
Congratulations on your best looking mag yet.
DaveyT
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Top Five 9/11 Freudian Slips
So sad
star--Poor
2011-09-28 16:12:33
Personally, I can't find the merit behind any of the conspiracy theory madness that Thomas seems to enjoy so much. I've even seen people saying that the people who leapt from the Towers rather than be burned to death were fakes. People talk of explosives found in the towers even though there was no trace of it. They talk of thermite being used to cut the steel even though you need 2 pounds of thermite to melt one pound of steel. The amount of thermite required, and the amount of explosives required, would have been astounding. They say that flight 93 was a fake. That a missile hit the Pentagon. They even say that the planes weren't actually capable of doing what they did. So why do people like Thomas do this? Because they have a deep seated inability to actually deal with true randomness and chaos. They *need* for there to be a conspiracy for their world to make sense. They have to have some large force controlling things because the idea that 19 terrorists could randomly inflict so much damage on us is too much for them to accept. It's too big to wrap their heads around so they make up deeply layered conspiracies so as to impose some level of order on it. They can cope with the idea of some faction of the government blowing up the Twin Towers in some sort of "Long Kiss Goodnight" scenario - but true random violence on such a grand scale is painful to them. There was no conspiracy on the part of the government. It did not extend to the highest levels. It was not a plot by the CIA and financeers. The evidence they present of conspiracy is weak and unfounded (like WTC was undamaged - it clearly had 25% of the building ripped away during the collapse of the Tower). It's sad that they feel better thinking what they do rather than facing the awfulness of reality.
Chris R
----------------------------------------------------------------
Long Kiss My Ass!
star--Excellent
2011-09-30 14:26:48
Hi Chris. No I don't think that is my problem. Actually I'd rather live in a universe where the bad guys were cutlery wielding Islamists rather than a cabal of evil sorcerers, but each to their own ! Anyway, my point was that there is a debate to be had, without resorting to moral or philosophical stigma. You've done both, right here, you can't help yourself, and your smattering of 'facts' (all of which could be rigorously and credibly contested, as well you know) aren't enough to dispel your real emphasis. DId you even read my piece, or watch the clips? Apparently not, or you might have realised it would be more relevent to address things other than thermite. And when you say that, 'they say missiles hit the Pentagon', did you mean 'people like me' or 'people like Donald Rumsfeld'? But I ain't madatcha X
Thomas McGrath
----------------------------------------------------------------
Great review
star--Excellent
2011-10-03 12:18:55
Very funny piece which I liked a lot. Having being into the same stuff as Thomas here for a long time I thought of putting a piece together for David K and Headpress a long while back, but this one is a lot funnier and therefore better than anything I would have written. I'd be happy if Headpress delved deep into conspiracy waters for at least one issue, though maybe with a funnier/sleazier vibe than Robin Ramsay's esteemed Lobster magazine, which is like Headpress for the rationally paranoid. Not to get into a back and forth about it, but for the record - "I've even seen people saying that the people who leapt from the Towers rather than be burned to death were fakes." I've read every conspiracy book on this subject, watched probably 60 hours of documentaries, and have haunted numerous blogs and forums on the topic, and that's a new one to me. I smell bullshit. "People talk of explosives found in the towers even though there was no trace of it." Heaps of traces found, both visible, audible, through witnesses, and via peer reviewed scientific analysis. The 'people that talk of explosives', btw, are largely witnesses from the day, like these three firefighters. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IO1ps1mzU8o "They talk of thermite being used to cut the steel even though you need 2 pounds of thermite to melt one pound of steel." 'They' talk of nanothermite, not thermite, and your figures don't match the former. "They say that flight 93 was a fake." Name a book or forum poster or 'conspiracy' documentary anywhere that suggest this and I'll be impressed. No-one has ever suggested flight 93 was a 'fake', although there's lots of differing opinions as to what happened to it. None of which makes the plane itself a 'fake', mind you, unless you mean 'the official story of how the plane met its fate' has been called a fake, which is true. Again, there's ample research available to question the official story, including the mayor of Shanksville (the crash site) shaking his head on camera as to how his testimony surrounding the event was distorted. "That a missile hit the Pentagon." This does get mentioned a lot. Maybe Tim Roemer above can explain why he decided to discuss missiles and 9/11 as pointed out by Thomas. "like WTC was undamaged - it clearly had 25% of the building ripped away during the collapse of the Tower" I'm assuming you mean WTC7 - can you point us to any photos anywhere that show a quarter of the 47 story building ripped away? I missed that one. There's an infamous MP3 interview online where a flunkey for Popular Mechanics states the same but tells his interviewer (Charles Goyette, I think) that the pictures can't be shown to anyone for spooky national security reasons. He pretty much gets laughed off the show. I'm finding growing amusement value in seeing conspiracy 'debunkers' accuse 9/11 conspiracists of attaching themselves to conspiracies as the notion of a government slaughtering its own citizens and getting away with it to do it again willy nilly (circa Bali, 7/7, etc etc) is somehow more 'reassuring' than 19 CIA-assisted-and-trained patsy fucknuts pulling off a once in a lifetime stunt and successfully outwitting the world's greatest military and defence force. More please Thomas!
Anthony Thorne
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hip Pocket Sleaze Files
Fabulous work!
star--Excellent
2011-09-25 23:52:54
Wonderful article and great historical research mixed with great writing. Headpress is an ever richer entity to have John Harrison aboard!
Mondoheather
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Iconoclast
An Alternative to Ambien
star--Poor
2011-09-15 19:51:42
The only redeeming factor of this movie is it is safer than Ambien. Only Larry Wessel can take an infinitely interesting person such as Boyd Rice and make a 4 hour snooze fest. There is no editing. He used every second of footage that he shot. The sound is horrible. Recorded in various situations and the sound goes from loud to soft, tons of hiss to unintelligible. If you actually go to the theater to see this film, bring a fork to repeatedly stab yourself in the head. It will make the film more enjoyable. A preferable alternative would be to take the 4 hours you would spend watching this film, sit on a lawn, and watch the grass grow.
R.S. Barnish
----------------------------------------------------------------
Hate Boyd, liked the film
star--Good
2011-09-23 13:31:18
Well, I'm no massive geek/child abuser/Tiki fanatic fan. So I kind of hate Boyd. However I watched the film with my boyfriend and though I did drift off to make tea sometimes I sat through most of it. If it was as boring as everyone on here seems to think (I'm looking here at the haters throwing shade on the work) then there is no way on earth that would have been the case. Yeah, some bits were shit. The panning in and out on the lemon grove sign, I could have lived without that. However, some of the film was genuinely funny, genuinely engaging and a really in-depth and interesting portait of a person. Some of it was indulgent and could have been edited a tiny bit more. I would not have sought out this film myself but I'm glad I watched, if only for the Tiki.
Jennifer Aniston
----------------------------------------------------------------
"R.S. Barnish" Is In Need Of Psychiatric Treatment
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 17:38:03
Dear R.S., Thank you for reaching out to me. Sadly, your "review" speaks volumes about your mental illness and of your addiction to sleeping pills. One wonders about your craving for Ambien. What terrifying thoughts race through your damaged brain at night R.S.? The following information is from the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, www.nami.org • Mental illnesses are disorders of the brain that disrupt a person’s thinking, feeling, moods, and ability to relate to others. Just as diabetes is a disorder of the pancreas, mental illnesses are disorders that often result in a diminished capacity for coping with the ordinary demands of life. • Mental illnesses can affect persons of any age, race, religion, or income. Mental illnesses are not the result of personal weaknesses, or poor upbringing. Over seven million people in this country and over five million children and adolescents suffer from a serious chronic mental disorder. These illnesses have a great impact on our society. Four of the top ten leading causes of disability are mental illnesses including: major depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and obsessive compulsive disorder, and the estimated cost of mental health care is over $150 billion per year. But far more important is the effect untreated mental illness has on the lives of individuals and their loved ones. • These brain disorders are treatable. As a diabetic takes insulin, most people with serious mental illnesses need medication to help control symptoms. Supportive counseling, self-help groups, housing, vocational rehabilitation, income assistance, and other community services can also provide support and stability, contributing to recovery.
Larry Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
Iconoclast from a fan perspective
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 18:15:33
I love this movie not from some right wing or satanic perspective, but from that of a Boyd fan; it's a perfect doccumentary. It reveals lots and little at the same time. If you're of the I hate Nazi (???) Boyd perspective, you're going to hate it, read his book NO, that'll answer plenty. But I found it fascinating and informative and only hope Wessel offers an even longer version on DVD if at all possible. Thank you very much Larry Wessel for making this and giving me the opportunity to get it on DVD.
Happy Cassette
----------------------------------------------------------------
Poor R.S.
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 18:16:19
Sorry you missed Oprah, R.S
A.A.
----------------------------------------------------------------
VISUAL and SONIC MASTERPIECE!
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 19:00:59
ICONOCLAST is a psychedelic adventure through the music, mind and mythology of BOYD RICE. It is fascinating to watch as it develops across the three locational segments of Rice's life - LEMON GROVE, SAN FRANCISCO and DENVER. Rice thrives on camera as an unparalleled natural story teller providing his unique insight into everything from Bobby Sherman to Charles Manson, with Anton LaVey, Tiny Tim, Marilyn Manson, and The Partridge Family along the way. There is nothing boring about Boyd, and the stories he tell, the music he makes and the people he has known personally. Wessel is brilliant at capturing Rice, and carefully editing the flow of music and memories, so that 50+ years of Rice, underground American culture and music, and Rice's collision with mainstream America, cover all this ground in a four hour doc that goes by too quickly. ICONOCLAST BREAKS BOUNDARIES, like its subject, BOYD RICE.
K.B. Adamson
----------------------------------------------------------------
A Fun and Worthwhile Documentary
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 19:49:28
Larry Wessel's Iconoclast is a brilliantly entertaining documentary. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this 3-DVD documentary on Boyd Rice over three consecutive evenings. Larry did the best thing a documentary filmmaker can do: he let the subject speak for itself. I highly recommend this gem of a film. (The audio is dynamic, like a lot of BBC DVDs. I'm not sure why reviewer B.S. Garnish had difficulty hearing it; likely needs new hearing-aid batteries and a sharper fork.)
Ken Gage
----------------------------------------------------------------
An Alternative to B.S. Tarnish
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 20:02:20
There is ONE fact in the previous review — Wessel's documentary is, indeed, four hours long. The rest of the "review" is sheer nonsensical fabrication from the diseased spittle-flecked mouth of a looney-tune. Maybe he forgot to take his medication. Maybe his dog bit his nose off. Who knows? If you want to know what this exceedingly informative documentary is REALLY like, Mute will be re-releasing the DVD in 2012. Stay tuned . . .
Mad King Ludwig
----------------------------------------------------------------
Warning to R.S. Barnish
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 20:15:04
Dear R.S., Ambien is often prescribed to treat certain brain disorders. It's side-effects include hallucinations, abnormal thinking and behavior changes. Answering these key questions may help you climb out of your A Hole. Can you not get to sleep without Ambien? Do you use Ambien to calm down, or have you used Ambien without a doctor's prescription? Are you afraid you might be addicted to Ambien? A Concerned Friend, Larry Wessel
Larry Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
free speech ?
star--Poor
2011-09-19 21:16:01
Larry Wessel Looks like a certain Genesis Survivor who calls himself "R.S. Barnish" doesn't like my Iconoclast...would you be so kind as to click on this link and respond to R.S. to set this mentally ill person straight? Many Thanks in Advance!!
frank booth
----------------------------------------------------------------
shit stains and hecklers
star--Excellent
2011-09-19 21:23:30
barnish is a heckler of the lamest sort a feeble attempt to steal the spotlight from someone actually doing something creative instead of offering an informative critique he lobs silly insults that are way off target Larry's movie plays out like a conversation with Boyd and the man is hilarious and like all Larry's movies there is a first person perspective where if it was not for the editing flow it would feel like Larry was not even there just his subject laid bare before the viewer now how many film makers can do that let alone even come close!
RUBBERNUN
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please Give Me My 4 Hours Back!
star--Poor
2011-09-19 21:47:17
BORING BORING BORING. Bad sound. Bad camera technique. Boring unedited interview after interview. When going to see a movie, you expect some kind of emotional response. Happy, sad, frightened, funny, something! With this "film" you get nothing. You struggle to understand what the person on the screen is saying, you watch raw footage that has not been treated to any editing. Apparently Larry Wessel is a man that owns a camera, but he cannot be considered a filmmaker. Do yourself a favor, take a nap in your bed at home for 4 hours. In the alternative, you can go and see this debacle. Either way, you are guaranteed to sleep.
Robert Emery
----------------------------------------------------------------
A Yawn-Free Documentary
star--Excellent
2011-09-20 00:11:09
A thoroughly enjoyable independently-financed documentary which touches on the many facets of Boyd's life. Guaranteed to draw negative criticisms from the armchair intellectuals who need their information inserted into them like a suppository greased by Hollywood's self-important pomposity. Those familiar with Boyd will find this 3-disc opus a fast-paced ride, and Larry Wessell -like a true showman- leaves his audience hungry for more.
Jason Hainey
----------------------------------------------------------------
Devil's in the Details
star--Excellent
2011-09-20 00:41:43
Incredibly thorough and intricate article, Thomas. (One of the many reasons to love Headpress!) I also had the pleasure of writing about ICONOCLAST and have to wonder if the previous commentator had seen the same film I did. The editing is one of the best things about it! As a Final Cut Pro video editing geek, I loved the numerous uses of cuts, transitions, lower third graphics and all that groovy stuff that come with such a job. The Peggy Moffitt sequence alone had a ton of assorted cuts going on. Different strokes for different folks, but I found the film to be very captivating with a good flow to it. (No mean feat with that healthy running time!) The film, like Boyd himself, may not be for everyone, but I loved it.
Heather
----------------------------------------------------------------
Larry Wessel made a great film
star--Excellent
2011-09-20 14:14:20
If you have any interest in Boyd Rice, and his obsessions, you’ll love this film. If not, you probably won’t. Seems pretty cut and dry to me. I wasn’t aware that Mr. Wessel was trying to make Iconoclast a summer blockbuster that would cater to those needing constant emotional stimulation in order to be entertained. Hey Larry, next time you make a film be sure to include plenty of car chases and some BIG EXPLOSIONS!!!!!
Al Campbell
----------------------------------------------------------------
Iskander
star--Excellent
2011-09-20 16:20:47
This is THE film for fans of Boyd Rice, Unpop and CoS / Industrial-related subculture. After 4 hours I wanted it to go on for at least for one or two hours, and this is IMHO the best compliment a documentary can get. Mr. Wessel knows how infotainment works!
Iskander
----------------------------------------------------------------
The Wessel's Poor maners and poor movie making skills
star--Poor
2012-05-05 00:27:19
Dear friends, enemies & art critics and the Wessel\'s I wasn\'t going to say anything about the movie but my name has been dragged into this pending a defamation suit against the Wessel\'s and i would like for them to give me a public apology for accusing me of wasting my time trying to sabotage this sleeper movie when in fact they are doing a better job of it. Also I was reading the Headpress issue i was in in the early 90\'s and wondered what Headpress was up too and I saw all this bad grammar and racism aimed at me so I decided to take a shot. Nothing to say about the Church of Satan I needed to be a Satanist and so much more so I moved on. Larry\'s anger at me is stemmed from his wife\'s anger at me after her having had sex with an X girlfriend of mine and she has been sharpening her ax ever since. Love the jabs TORA TORA!! GO GIRL! when\'s the divorce? (but please take some English grammar classes). Thank you for spelling my name right and thank you for the free publicity I actually got 2 commissions because of all your hate. HATE=DOLLARS And I don\'t care what you think of my art you are hardly an accomplished being, you are barley an amoeba but you look hot when you are angry, please next time you want to cause a scene do it naked. My \"art?\" well take it or leave it. I love it I do it everyday of my life and do not care if everyone in the world hates it I\'d still paint in fact I love it when people hate my work sometimes more than when the love my artwork. everyone knows bad art never gets a mention unless it is a movie and it is being reviewed. Seems the Wessel\'s have jealousy issues. It is not my fault I am at least good enough to make a living doing my \"shitty art\" and i don\'t live in my mother\'s house. The fact that you Larry and you Tora have to have day jobs speaks volumes both to your \"art\" , conviction and people skills. Keep the day job Larry you\'ll need it. Tora there are strip clubs in L.A. hiring. Yes Giger is a collector and anyone can go to his castle at St Germain in the Swiss Alps in Gruyere and see several of my master works on the top floor in his personal collection and if you are a lazy \"Mercan you can go to the Giger Castle website and take a virtual tour of the collection online and see my Crowley PAINting. Tora you are a lousy liar. Anyone questioning my heritage as a 5/8 Native American can request the password to my Ancestry.com page or join ancestry.com my tree is public. Also last i checked Mexican people actually have Native American blood this can be scientifically proven. Why are satanists so hung up on race. If the movie showed more of Boyd\'s racism it would be at least a respectable journalistic piece. More interesting than goofy Tiki infantilism. OK Now about the movie: A good example of how the person who makes a movie about an interesting person so they can seem interesting or \"relevant\" becomes neither. Iconoclast is way to long, edited like a bad montage of \"cool images\" and too much about the person and his weird friends and not enough about his art. I wanted more of Boyd\'s aesthetics especially of art as warfare. ART WAR!!!!I wanted something more about the artists insights not more public image bullshit. I wanted footage of Boyd taking his shirt off at Casa Bonita yelling how buff he is. Insights into the artist like in the movie \"Crumb\" about Robert Crumb or the movie \"Rest in Pieces\" about Joe Coleman which has all the crazy public antics but has Joe being Joe the person and being with authentic. All this talk of \"blood & shit\" makes me wish there was more raw gritty BOYD being an asshole or beating up his girlfriend.Real life raw REAL REALITY not reality TV high fructose BS. like the piss drinking scene in the movie \"Hated\" about G.G. Allin whom in my opinion was less talented than Boyd but a by far better and more interesting film. Boyd is not a boring icon but Iconoclast makes him seem so. It would be a fabulous home movie and is an o.k. document that should be filed in a museum somewhere. Obviously Wessel blew his wad without rythm, sincerity and skill. He blew his one shot at the top and it\'s a flop. I am glad he got off my coat tails and can see why Boyd won\'t have anything to do with him. However the trailer which Larry spent a year on is fabulous so I\'d say forget the movie just buy boyd\'s music and watch the trailer. P.S. Rumor has it Boyd has offered up much of the same footage for the \"Leyba Does Boyd\" Pornographic Re-mix in Shit-O-Blood avision.............. I have two questions Larry why did you fuck up the Time Warner deal on the movie? & Hey Headpress when is the next Steven Johnson Leyba article running?
Leyba
----------------------------------------------------------------
Loved it
star--Excellent
2012-04-05 07:09:43
I was introduced to Boyd Rice some time ago through another Denver \'industrial\' musician under the pretense that his politics were appalling, but the music made up for it. Through my own investigation, not only did I not find Boyd\'s politics appalling, I didn\'t find them at all! I\'ve always looked at the far right imagery as a challengingly beautiful aesthetic that works as a visual accompaniment to what I can imagine to be the challenge of listening to \'noise\' music for the average listener. That being said.. Iconoclast was more or less what I expected it to be, and I was very satisfied. I revel in Boyd\'s work because it leads me to ask questions, and Iconoclast does very much the same. I don\'t want to know the \'why\', but more-so the \'how\'. It\'s surprisingly upbeat and very funny. The Anton Lavey anecdotes in particular are still giving me the chuckles (I can understand why Boyd had a hard time trying to tell the story of the telephone call from \'The Old Man\', I was laughing about that even after the film ended.. I can only imagine waking up to it myself.) Oddly enough, I went to bed immediately afterward and I myself had a dream with Anton Lavey, but he was having sex with my ex-girlfriend in her parent\'s bathroom. If you\'re a Boyd fan, absolutely buy this film. If you\'re one of the assholes complaining that Boyd \'hasn\'t really done anything\' to warrant a four hour documentary, tell me, if someone put together a film of such length and depth about your life, would it be a fraction as interesting?
Mister Five
----------------------------------------------------------------
"Unedited"? Are you serious?
star--Excellent
2011-09-20 23:36:44
A couple of troll-types have made the claim that this DVD doc hasn't been edited, or that Wessel used "every bit" of footage he had. What utter crap — Wessel shot over 200 HOURS of footage, and had to face the onerous task of editing it down to just four. And this four hours, spread over three parts, actually makes this documentary seem almost two brief. I'd remind the two nay-sayers here that yes, you ARE indeed entitled to an opinion. But telling lies does not constitute a credible review. OK?
Jerzy
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you wanna get personal...
star--Excellent
2011-09-23 11:47:39
It is self-evident to say that Iconoclast is predominantly an interview-based documentary, but many viewers found these interviews so engrossing and thought-provoking that the four hours flew by. Any interview is always as much a portrait of the interviewee as it is an opportunity to reap whatever perspective they happen to be able to offer on the documentary’s subject matter. Off the top of my head I can picture half a dozen of the cast of Iconoclast, alongside what they said and how they said it, an ease that reflects well on the filmmaker. I likewise came away from the documentary feeling as if I had spent a long time hanging out with Boyd Rice, and that this had been illuminating. It is worth remembering that all this material didn't just fall out of the sky and into Wessel's lap. I’m thinking that the viewers who found Iconoclast boring might be those not especially interested in personality - the way someone expresses themselves, their gestures and speech patterns and the like. Wessel’s film suggests he is acutely interested in these idiosyncrasies. If you’re not, maybe you won’t like Iconoclast, if you are, you probably will.
Thomas McGrath
----------------------------------------------------------------
A Masterpiece of Cinema Verite
star--Excellent
2011-09-23 18:46:49
It's absolutely fascinating reading your comments, "R.S. Barnish". Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and more often than not it's those differing opinions and voices that makes something richer... Allowing for different ways to view something, maybe offering something new to the table. But your comments, which you are also so frightened of having your real name attached to, does nothing of the sort. Any discerning reader can clearly tell it's the ramblings of someone who has a personal beef to hack with the filmmaker. They offer nothing. Just a childish, dumbed-down and borderline hysterical way for you to express your jealousy and spite. And R.S. is jealous. He is a struggling (VERY struggling) underground / independent wannabe "filmmaker" who is trying to get a break. Like Larry Wessel successfully has with this entirely self-made, self-produced and self-distributed epic. Granted that gets to R.S. Why couldn't he get any attention for his sloppily made and juvenile attempts at filmmaking?  That's not fair! R.S. is just a little boy holding a big grudge. Trying to disguise using a pseudonym and poor excuse for a review. As far as ICONOCLAST goes, I doubt he can fully comprehend the ENORMOUS amount of work and patience and dedication required to tackle 200+ hours of raw footage, every minute containing bouts of information, and sitting down for SIX YEARS to edit it into a cohesive storyline. On your OWN.  Larry is my husband so of course this review can be considered biased. But I know film, if I know anything. I know documentaries. I know that more often than not I'm left wanting more after a doc ends. I know it's rare I feel as if I know the subject after I'm finished watching. And I know it's even rarer to come across a filmmaker who has such passion for his craft that he will dedicate all this time to a subject, and never give up no matter what obstacles present themselves his way. Again - on his OWN. As for your poor attempts at a "review", you offer nothing. No EDITING? anyone who has viewed this film will tell you that every single frame is full of content, that every bit and piece has been finely tuned and edited much like one of Larry Wessel's extraordinary and infamous collage art pieces. Larry is someone who has an incredible eye for detail, and the patience to tackle it, too.  Watching him work on this film every single day for 5+ years I can tell you without a doubt that the editing is sublime and completely mind-blowing, and I'd dare you, R.S., to create something even remotely similar from piles and piles and piles of unedited raw footage. You could not do it. You would not do it justice. You would be far to preoccupied with trying to cubit down (and down, and down..) to satisfy the popular masses and your own short attention span. The fact is that every minute if the four hours offers something to the full story. And upon finishing the film, the viewer is left with an intimate and realistic portrait and view into one of the most controversial and secretive artists currently on this earth. This is a film for people interested in people. Like an above reviewer said - it is an exploration that offers real insight to the viewer. It offers you little clues and little hints and the viewer might pick up on some, or all, or none. ICONOCLAST is an epic documentary that is completely in the line with true Cinema Verite. The road paved by such artists as Frederick Wiseman (Titicut Follies, Hospital), the Measley Brothers (Gray Gardens, Gimme Shelter) and even Leni Riefenstahl (Triumph of the Will, Olympia). Artists who do not compromise. Artists who offer you a new way altogether to look at the film medium and the subject. Artists with a real passion and unflinching eye for the insights only Cinema Verite can offer the viewer. This film ranks among this greats. For those who can sit down and watch a film knowing it is 4 hours long, it offers an almost transcendental experience upon completion. You won't think of film, Boyd Rice, or popular culture the sane way again, ever, after watching this feat in editing and storytelling. It will change you forever. I can say that without a doubt. And ICONOCLAST is not only a return to the true wats of documentary film making, it has paved a new road altogether, for artists, viewers and independent cinema everywhere. The film is brilliant. As always with such works, it will often go straight over the heads of your common viewer. For those who know and appreciate film as an art form, and those who are interested in the unusual and lesser heard voices and views that are hard to come by among all the cookie-cutter, boring, uninspired staying-within-the-lines documentaries - this movie will most definitely rank in your very favorites. There is nowhere now or anytime in the future you will get a truer, more insightful and comprehensive portrait of an artist such as Rice. Larry Wessel dares to take you where you haven't been before. It might be scary at first. But this us what great artists DO. They not only give you something you haven't seen before, they might end up redefining an entire genre, and they might end up passing a legacy down to other filmmakers with their fresh eyes. Like Riefenstahl. Like Wiseman. Like Errol Morris. Like the Measley Brothers. And now - like Larry Wessel. -Tora Wessel http://www.wesselmaniaphotography.com
Tora Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
The Ontology of Boyd - A fireside chat with Rice
star--Excellent
2011-09-25 18:50:13
Greetings from Down Under, Iconoclast is an excellent documentary. Larry won Best Director and the Film won Best doco at the recent 12th Melbourne Underground Film Festival that I run in Australia. See: www.muff.com.au. Trolls like this Barnish chap can be mostly ignored. There are always people with an ax to grind, personal or otherwise and with Boyd Rice these types seem to crawl out of the woodwork. The net gives every idiot a voice and we have to tolerate. Until say a Future Artists Utopia can be established with some quality control, etc. Hehe. As someone who knows both Boyd and Larry this doco is a truly unique fusion. As Jimmy The Exploder our Jury head said at MUFF 12, "Iconoclast is like a four hour afternoon hanging out with Boyd". And having hung out many afternoons with Boyd I can attest this to be true. I have spent hours in Boyd's company and have never been bored a minute. 4 hours is if anything, too short! But all good things have their time and I think Larry got it just right. Boyd's mind is that of a polymath and his temperament that of a congenial Renaissance man. Larry is equally a gent. I was lucky to be previewed this film at his house with his beautiful wife Tora. We watched two hours had a delicious PIzza and discussion and watched the other two hours. I introduced them to Mark Savage that day, an amazing Oz filmmaker, and it was a great day and great pleasure to introduce these folks. I have been extremely impressed by Wessel's previous work, especially TAUROBOLIUM. Pure Ontological Cinema. A serious new vein of Underground Cinema can be found in Wessel's work. Larry takes the notion of underground cinema and documentary to new places. He should be funded by the Getty or other such US arts organization. Iconoclast is an epic passion project that must not have been easy for personalities as large as Larry and Boyd. So, hats off to both of them as we cinema lovers and audience gain. Buy a DVD and see this film. Support Underground Cinema. It Matters! Best Regards Richard Wolstencroft Filmmaker and MUFF Director
Richard Wolstencroft
----------------------------------------------------------------
Best four hours I ever spent!
star--Excellent
2011-09-26 01:55:05
I am a little perplexed as what happened to my review. However, I will be brief. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Normally for any film Four hours is a long time, and to watch it in one sitting it can prove challenging. But I think it is a credit to the film maker and the subject that I was so fully enrapt with the documentary, each and every new facet was explored in such an inventive way. Documentaries tend to be a bit academic in nature, but here, the humour was always present. There was not a time when you did not wonder if while Mr. Rice was explaining some of his past escapades if tongue was not planted firmly in cheek. I thought it was brilliant, I never enjoyed a documentary film so much before. I think that due to the ferocity of some of Mr. Wessel's detractors, that they fail to realize what art was wrought here, and honestly I think it frightens them. It frightens them because it is undeniable. Mr. Rice sets the record straight in a wonderfully articulate way, as always. Mr. Wessel has a true gift for presentation. He can take a subject and show you when it is at the height, the pinnacle in all it's glory, and simultaneously show you all its misshapen flaws at the very same moment. You truly appreciate the beauty and grandeur that way, because it rings true. It has the indelible mark of humanity all over it. To those who wanted a fantasy woven for them, Mr. Wessel had the foresight not to cater to such disingenous aims. Indeed, his Documentary is so brilliantly honest and captivating that after four hours I was left wanting more. Watch this movie, you will not be disappointed. ..
Sean T. Mc Nerney
----------------------------------------------------------------
Worth A Watch With A Remote In Hand
star--Below average
2011-09-26 19:21:37
I read about this film online and wanted to see it so much. I got a copy of the 3 DVD set (to my surprise a vendor at my local flea market had several copies for $10). YEAH! Much smarter than trying to sit through this in a theater. You can watch a few minutes of an interview and when it gets too boring, FF. That is how I was able to enjoy this film. Watch, FF, watch, FF, watch (oh, a Boyd scene), watch, FF, watch, FF, FF, FF, watch Boyd, FF. Parts of Iconoclast are interesting, most of it is not, but hell, it's a documentary on Boyd Rice. How cool is that! Long overdue and much appreciated! I hate seeing all the bitching about it (although I have to admit that a review on another site made me laugh when they called it "Iconocrap: A Boydless Documentary"). But you have to give Larry Wessel credit for doing it at all. Nobody else did. Yes it has over 2 hours of filler, yes the people being interviewed are more into themselves than sharing any insights about Boyd, yes it's hard to understand at points, but it's a documentary about Boyd Rice and for that reason alone it should be applauded. Again, I would recommend that you rent the DVD rather than seeing it in a theater (so you can FF), but everybody should see it.
Honey West
----------------------------------------------------------------
A bit of self-reflection, Mr Barnish
star--Excellent
2011-09-27 17:54:28
R.s. — You should be seeking help to find out why one piece of work that Larry Wessel did is causing you to obsess and attack him on so many sites and so many levels.
Boyd Rice
----------------------------------------------------------------
For R.S Barnish
star--Excellent
2011-09-27 23:29:21
Firstly, "R.S.", there is no trace of you existing. Not on any search engine, not even on Ancestry.com. Apparently, you were never born. Secondly - YOU are the one who created a group (with 2 members...) dedicated to nothing but going on about how you could do a better job at editing this film than Larry Wessel has. An ordinary Joe... Who would have thought? It's ridiculous to even keep this discussion going, as anyone who reads your poor attempts at reviewing this film here will clearly see that you are nothing but a jealous, bitter, and yes, average Joe, with an axe to grind. It bothers you to no end that someone else has accomplished something if real value. As you stand there and check out groceries or mop the floors of the local supermarket, you start to HATE Larry Wessel, and your frustrations at not accomplishing anything with your life starts to translate into anger and self loathing. You project all of this into your childish and reactional comments on this site, and maybe you'll feel like you had sone kind if impact in your dull life the next morning your alarm goes off and you are off to bag groceries. It's see through, embaressing, pathetic and desperate. Of course we blocked you? Why on earth would we want you around? Your opinions gave zero gravity. You are insignificant at best and your attempts to review this masterpiece are nothing but futile, sad little efforts to make yourself feel a bit more important. We did not start the personal attacks. We would never invest our time in creating a fake FaceBook profile (go on about you being who you say you are, there is no trace of you leading anywhere or starting anywhere), or a group with the title "Larry Wessel, and how not to make a documentary". That's a joke. You are accomplishing nothing but being laughed at. Feel free to express your opinions. Be my guest. But OBSESSIVELY trolling the Internet and pretty much stalking my husband to say the same thing over and over... That's not criticism anymore. It's an average Joe powered by jealousy and an empty schedule, trying to make himself matter. You never will. So let's just leave it at that. You have no place in criticizing real artists such as Larry Wessel, Boyd Rice, or the editing of a film, when you clearly are not even familiar with creativity. Stop being a baby and accept your lot in life!
Tora Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
A Masterpiece
star--Excellent
2011-09-28 00:06:43
Wessel's film is a masterpiece! Read my review + interview of Larry here: http://mesikammen.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/boyd-rice-an-embodiment-of-the-wolfs-hook/
Mesikämmen
----------------------------------------------------------------
Slurring Gay
star--Excellent
2011-09-28 00:35:23
I have not personally seen the film, but I trust the good taste of friends who have given it a good review. I look forward to seeing it myself. Concerning Mr. Barnish, man up! Apparently you were unaware there are consequences for publicly expressing opinions. One would think you would have learned this from watching a documentary about Boyd Rice. Perhaps you were not watching very closely. Being that I am also a gay man, you may consider this a "gay slur" if you like...
Nathaniel Ketcham
----------------------------------------------------------------
R.S. IS STEVEN MONSANTO LEYBA
star--Excellent
2011-09-28 19:23:13
Well, folks. Me & Larry have, with the help of a few others, determined without a doubt that the person, the coward, behind all of the "R.S. Barnish" posts, and the group, is none other than STEVEN LEYBA. Settled. Congratulations, "monsanto", for humiliating yourself beyond what I thought possible all on your own! For those not in the know. Steven Leyba is a wannabe "artist" and "satanist" who likes to cut himself open, shit on a plate, and paint embarrassingly bad and laughable paintings with his own bodily fluids. He is no one important, no one of any significance, and is the laughing stock of everyone we have come across in the "circle" he thinks himself a part of. He succeeds in nothing and is infamously untalented and equally lacking of any intelligence.  Of note too, is that Leyba did a documentary himself! That's right! Check it out. The footage looks like it was shot on a cellphone camera, the nonexistent choppy editing was done on iMovie, and the sound? INDISTINGUISHABLE. Fascinating how Steven decided to write how big of a fan he is of Boyd Rice's, considering he makes an effort to slander him to anyone who crosses his path. He is incredibly jealous at Larry Wessel and has been for a very very long time. Hey, he's even tried desperately to freak Larry out by mailing him a postcard on his birthday this year covered in blood, shit, and swastikas. Accomplished nothing but getting him reported to authorities. Stevens desperate and jealousy fueled comments here speak for themselves.  He is nothing and no one of any importance, and deserves no ones further attention. We are after all talking about the guy who goes on a stage and shoves bottles up his ass and pulls American Flags out of obese women's vaginas as performance art. The guy who tells of Stephen King and HR Giger being fans and COLLECTORS of his Shit Art, when the truth if the matter is Steven attended a party at Gigers, and just LEFT some of his crap there. Following which, Giger threw them out on the sidewalk! We are talking about the guy who claims he is apache Indian when he is in fact half Mexican. We are talking about the guy who has been made fun of, laughed at and brushed off by the Church of Satan, every artist he admires, and every girl who eventually realizes he has blood carried diseases which are most likely uncurable. Let's ignore him, like everyone else does and always will, and move on!
Tora Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
A final note on RS/LEYBA
star--Excellent
2011-09-28 19:43:06
The profile picture used by "RS" on his Facebook page? None other than Apple Computers Designer Jonathan Ive - http://www.myinkblog.com/2009/09/29/8-designers-who-never-fail-to-inspire/
Tora Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
BEARDED INDIANS? SHIT SMEARED POSTCARDS? MONSANTO? THE PLOT THICKENS LIKE OLD TAPIOCA!
star--Excellent
2011-09-28 22:00:43
This bearded Mexican American Apache impersonator basically got booted from the Church of Satan for being an ass!! He bum-rushed the cameras and microphiones at a COS press conference for their 666 Event held in Los Angeles on June 6, 2006. Wearing an all-white suit (the dress code was black) he publically denounced the COS to the media. He used the COS to promote his own "Coyote Church", a few days later he was ex-communicated from the COS. It was a long time coming, he was a total embarrassment to the COS. The next head on the chopping block belonged to Rex Church!! Lay Bah's "Native American" fatwa against WesselMania began with a FaceBook post of Tora's where she said that she appreciated giant corporations like Apple for making such cool computers and for other large corporations for creating some of her favorite cosmetics. Lay Bah the "Apache" read this post and blew a fuse accusing Tora and I of being Fascists!! We both decided enough was enough and "de-friended" the ethnic poseur (we had learned earlier that he is actually half Mexican and half caucasian). Soon after this an email arrived from Laybaa. He said that he would be in San Bernardino, CA in August and would be coming to visit us. I emailed him back and advised him not to. A few weeks later a postcard arrived postmarked on my birthday (August 16, 2011). The postcard was covered in blood and fecal matter. We figured that this was his lame idea of an ancient injun curse! This postal biohazard was reported to the local authorities. A week or so later during the third week of August 2011, several really mean-spirited comments were posted on my Iconoclast YouTubes. I removed them and reported them to YouTube. And then...Headpress posted a 5 Star Rave Review of my ICONOCLAST on their website and who was the first one to post a comment? A guy by the name of R.s. Barnish. Hmmmm. Tora and I began our research. Didn't look to us like "R.s. Barnish" was a real person. Yes, "R.s. Barnish" did have a FaceBook Profile. Yes, it was "R.s. Barnish: who created an Anti-Larry Wessel, Anti-Wesselmania, Anti-Iconoclast FaceBook Page too!! Yes, "R.s. Barnish" has kept himself busy this month defaming me and my wife and my film on my Iconoclast FaceBook Event Pages, on my Non/Boyd Rice in Larry Wessel's Iconoclast FaceBook Fan Page and about a dozen or so times he left poison pen posts on the aforementioned Iconoclast 5 Star Rave Review thread on Headpress.com and other websites that have been singing the praises of my ICONOCLAST. But who was hiding behind the pseudonym and phony Facebook profile of "R.s. Barnish"? Tora and I put on our surgical gloves lit our Sherlock Holmes pipes and and kept following this fecal matter and blood encrusted, urine and cum-stained paper trail until it lead us to the perp himself, a troll who once called himself Steven Johnson and then decided to be Steven Johnson Leyba and then changed his name again to Monsanto Leyba and now R.s. Barnish. Looks like Lay Bah appropriated his "R.s. Barnish" FaceBook Profile Photo from none other than Jonathan Ive, Vice President of Industrial Design at Apple and the man who is credited with creating the imac, Powerbook G4 and iPod. The plot thickens like old tapioca.
Larry Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
BRYIN DALL IS THE TROLL WHO CALLS HIMSELF R.s. BARNISH
star--Excellent
2011-12-24 19:02:30
IT'S ON!! THE TIME IS NOW TO PLAY WHAC-A-MOLE!! R.s. Barnish's identity is revealed at last... Last August while I was promoting the Anthology Film Archives screenings of my ICONOCLAST a curious message was posted to my FaceBook wall. It was the announcement of the screening of a super 8mm film at a bar somewhere on the same night as the NYC Premiere of my ICONOCLAST at the Anthology Film Archives. I removed this ad posted by Brian Dall (he spells his name Bryin Dall) on my FB wall. He immediately posted again on my wall. This time he was hopping mad. His post read something like this, "How dare you remove my post from your wall. My movie begins at midnight the same night as your Premiere and I was going to bring all my friends to see your film first but NOT NOW. I will tell them NOT to see your film and I am now de-friending you on facebook!! The very next day there was a comment on one of my promotional YouTube videos for my ICONOCLAST. This comment said that my documentary was "boring and would be a great alternative to using Ambien". The comment was from someone calling themselves "R.s. Barnish". As soon as I removed this poison pen post another one appeared somewhere else on the internet. This remember is last August. For 4 months, Tora and I have been putting up with Bryin Dall's hate campaign against my ICONOCLAST. A few days back he had YouTube remove an ICONOCLAST trailer for "nudity" and two of my animated gifs for "sexually explicit content". I have now been banned from YouTube and cannot respond to any of his attacks. His latest effort is a video titled "Larry Wessel Cures insomnia with Iconoclast Starring Boyd Rice" and can be viewed on YouTube right now. Brian Dall is using clips from my ICONOCLAST (without my permission) in order to tell the world that ICONOCLAST is boring and that I am a lousy filmmaker. I want to thank all of my FaceBook friends who have flagged Bryin Dall's video as inappropriate. As of now the video is still up on YouTube so if you haven't done so yet I really need your help NOW. PLEASE VISIT THIS ANTI-LARRY WESSEL, ANTI-ICONOCLAST VIDEO THAT HE JUST POSTED ON YOUTUBE AND CLICK THE FLAG FOR INAPPROPRIATE SO THAT YOUTUBE WILL DO THE SAME TO HIM....MANY THANKS IN ADVANCE, YOUR FRIEND, LARRY "WHAK-A-MOLE" WESSEL... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btDwFEjCadM
Larry Wessel
----------------------------------------------------------------
My Last Post
star--Poor
2011-09-29 07:41:04
Dear Wessels - I have never heard of STEVEN LEYBA, but I pity him now that you think I'm him. Since you have unblocked me from facebook, I have, in turn, blocked both of you. I can't believe that you would spend so much time researching and stalking me for one little review. I have done screen shots of all of your posts on all of the pages and your emails. I have given copies to my local police department (in the event that you do find me). I will not accept your friends' friend requests. You really need to GET A LIFE! I wrote a negative review about a shitty movie. DEAL WITH IT! I'm not the first and you can be sure, I WON'T BE THE LAST! Now LEAVE ME THE F ALONE! Take the time you're spending obsessing over me on film school or, better yet, a full psychiatric evaluation. The only bright spot to all of this is that it has been MUCH MORE INTERESTING THAN ICONOCLAST!
R.S. Barnish
----------------------------------------------------------------
Caterpillars & Butterflies
star--Excellent
2011-10-01 15:06:11
Watching this film is like watching a caterpillar for 4 hours. It moves really slowly, doesn't go anywhere and doesn't turn into a butterfly.
P.J. Soles
----------------------------------------------------------------
Don't feed the trolls, mummy.
star--Good
2011-10-03 18:20:18
The "poor man" that Mr Mummy refers to, was a trouble-maker and muck-raker who was telling LIES about Wessel's work as part of a general — and purely personal — campaign of harassment. He was not a "poor man" at all — it was Steven Leyba acting under a pseudonym and pretending, pathetically, to be a harassed homosexual. Other negative reviews on here have told similar lies, and/or are just personal attacks. The point is, if you're going to vigorously criticise someone's work, then STICK TO THE FACTS — otherwise it's just TROLLING! Is that clear? No, I'm not Larry Wessel. It's a good documentary — and naturally it won't be to everyone's taste — but the director doesn't have to resort to lies or assumed identities to promote his work. Other people will promote it by choice. And frankly, Boyd is lucky to have had this much effort lavished on him — I can't see that it will ever happen again. Make the most of it while you can.
Hunter O Trolls.
----------------------------------------------------------------
Nice try Barnish
star--Excellent
2011-10-24 02:31:10
I did not write the review above that has my name attached. I have sent an email to the admin of this site to remove it as it does not reflect my views. I have not yet seen Iconoclast, but am sure I will enjoy it when I do. My apologies to the Wessel's, but we know this is the work of Barnish. Aloha, Craig Ellenwood
Craig Ellenwood
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fan Film & Fan Edit
places like digital-fanedits.com
star--Good
2011-07-04 10:11:32
Well, amateur film editing isn't new. By some estimations, the art form you describe has been evolving for nearly two decades, even when VHS was still viable. You should also check out the fanedits by "anti-matter," who has completed several incredible revisions of the star wars and star trek feature films. Your readers should be aware, however, that most fanedits are not that great, in all honesty. Many are unwatchable, and most can never replace the official versions. When you finally see one of the top 1%, it can be a jaw-dropping moment. It can also make you wonder why it took an amateur working for free to accomplish what a major studio could not.
Craig S.
----------------------------------------------------------------
Die Hard 4
star--Excellent
2011-09-15 06:48:42
Thanks Craig S. for some interestings points. With regard to the quality of fan edits, I can well believe that some are unwatchable, and it's down to the community of the fan sites I have visited that has so far steered me towards the better efforts. I saw the Die Hard 4 fan edit, by Uncanny Antman (over at http://fanedit.org/), which really does make a better film out of its source material. I think fan editors willing to take footage out and not be afraid of making a film shorter is a good sign generally.
David K.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Freedom
best and beast
star--Excellent
2011-04-14 14:12:58
Couldn't agree more. 'Franzen is a zero pain dweeb'. (From a neo noir site) Maybe we're just too depraved for little Jonny.
Mark Ramsden
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Johnny Strike
FIRST STRIKE
star--Excellent
2011-03-10 23:59:13
Johnny is one of my all-time heroes. His guitar playing in Crime sounds like nothing else in rocknroll: the notes are so somehow so serrated and mangled it is like the space between your speakers is being re-assembled into new shapes. Murder by Guitar. Coolest looking band ever as well. That he survived to have a second act of writing brilliantly realised sci-fi beat drug noir is truly remarkable. An inspiration. Both his novel published by Headpress and short story collection on the Rudos and Rubes imprint are essential reading.
Lemmy Caution
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Into The Unknown extracts
Out of print?
star--Excellent
2011-02-28 16:59:54
The book appears to be out of print. Is it going to be available again any time soon? Cheers, Mal
Mal
----------------------------------------------------------------
Out of print?
star--Excellent
2011-03-02 17:46:38
Unfortunately, it is out of print. Keep watching the skies for any changes, or better still join our mailing list.
Team Headpress
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Teaser trailer
Prisoners?
star--Excellent
2011-02-15 12:49:18
Is there much more Solarflares/Prisoners material available? If so when will it be available?
Derek T.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Special Offer!
Are you taking requests?
star--Excellent
2011-02-11 16:23:38
Are you taking requests? I would liek to see Chelsea Hotel in this list. Keep up the good work!
Angelhead
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Dead & the Moon
We love you Dave
star--Excellent
2011-02-03 16:43:25
Sounds like fun
Davey T
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ports of Hell
:))
star--Excellent
2011-01-21 20:10:38
Quality!
Mrt333
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Zine Suppository
Good to see this.
star--Excellent
2011-01-14 17:23:44
I looked into something similar myself. There only exists a few academic papers on zines to my knowledge and a few books. Dr Wertham wrote one way back. None really cover the so-called hatezines or more extreme zines of the nineties. Answer Me! being a prime example, but there are others even lower on the radar.
Gene
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The vampire teeth of Vampire Circus
Vampire Circus
star--Excellent
2011-01-14 09:32:38
As a footnote to the review, the making-of documentary features interviews with cast members, including a jovial Dave Prowse who lets the world in on his acting secrets.
David K.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
World of Zines
More zines, please!
star--Excellent
2011-01-14 09:25:19
Are you planning on uploading the zine reviews from older Headpresses? I would think there is an invaluable resourse there.
Ant
----------------------------------------------------------------
More zines, please!
star--Excellent
2011-01-14 09:29:08
Thanks for that, Ant. This is an idea we have been kicking around and we hope to put into practice soon.
David K.
----------------------------------------------------------------
Guide to the Counterculture
star--Excellent
2011-09-16 11:47:48
With its wealth of archive reviews of zines and periodicals, Headpress Guide to the Counterculture is now available free to download as a pdf... well, the first part anyway. More parts to follow. Go to the BOOK EXTRACTS section of this website.
David K.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dark Stars Rising press
Powerhouse Shade
star--Excellent
2011-01-12 17:10:53
Shade is a powerhouse!
Ganymede
----------------------------------------------------------------
AWESOME READ!
star--Excellent
2011-10-14 02:28:15
Jodorowsky, Satana, and Udo Kier...WHAT A READ!
Christopher Storti
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shade Rupe
Dark Stars Risen!
star--Excellent
2010-12-13 08:55:44
Anyone got an issue of Funeral Party 1?...
David
----------------------------------------------------------------
Gorgeous
star--Excellent
2010-12-13 12:13:51
Congratulations on the finest Headpress release of 2010 and probably longer!! Looks f**kin beautiful!!
Mrt333
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dark Stars Photobook
Dark Stars Risen!
star--Excellent
2010-12-01 18:47:40
Nice vidz.
J.S. Wilson
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robert Rosen
Beaver Street
star--Excellent
2010-08-12 12:06:06
Sure your new book will be the whole success as Nowhere...Waiting for it here in Madrid, Spain.
A Beatles and a Robert Rosen Fan
----------------------------------------------------------------
Thank You!
star--
2010-09-15 11:33:39
Looking forward to returning to Spain, meeting all of you, and sharing some good food, good wine, and good conversation--en español. Bob Rosen
Robert Rosen
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
linebar.jpg
cat_hd.jpg
linebar.jpg
 
linebar.jpg
wht_newhd.jpg
linebar.jpg

Read all Headpress news»

View a sample newsletter»

Download our E-Books at XinXii

 




Image eccentropedia
Go to The Eccentopedia»

Click to view

Image banner tarantella

Image headshop

 

Image spinegrinder

Image all about being loud

Go to comics by Antonio Ghura»

linebar.jpg
archive.jpg
linebar.jpg